Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | July 21, 2016

Vote Your Conscience

Morning has broken -July 21, 2016.  God makes all things new.

Morning has broken -July 21, 2016. God makes all things new.

Last night, Sen. Ted Cruz gave a great speech about the future vision that should be shared by Republicans.  He urged all Americans to vote in November.  On election day, we should vote up and down the ballot for candidates who will defend the Constitution.  We should vote our conscience.

Voting our conscience is great advice.  It supposes that voting involves thought.  Most voting is emotional.  The hysterical reaction of Trump supporters and many Establishment Republicans confirms this fevered aspect of politics.  The bile spewed speaks to the individuals slinging it.  Likewise, Cruz exercised his emotion, based on honorable principles to protect family, to not endorse someone who savaged his wife, marriage, and father.  Well done, Ted. Good man.

If Ted’s honorable defense of family costs him his political future, it was a worthy profile in courage.

After batting back and forth with the Cruz critics last night, I rested well.  Morning broke with the picture above.  God makes all things new every day.  His beauty fills my heart with happiness.

America can survive HRH Hillary the First or Trump.  It’ll be harder, more challenging, to come back after 4 years of institutionalized corruption – See Germany in the 1930s, the Soviet Union in the 1920s – with HRH.  It can be done.  Whether it will be done or not, depends on how many Americans share the values, principles and the courage of conviction of Ted Cruz.

It’s going to be a long four years ahead.  Either way.  We’ll need more sunrises like today to sustain us.

Responses

  1. Jim… I disagree with your assertion that both Trump and Clinton represent “Institutionalized Corruption”. Corruption in government is nothing new. The Clintons’ are masters at manipulating people and using political power for personal gain. If Trump wins the election, I believe he will do what’s best for America and be wildly popular at the end of his first term. Cruz is smart enough to know that he blew it last night… it’s unlikely he’ll ever be our POTUS. He would’ve been better served to stay off the podium at the convention.

  2. I too liked Ted Cruz’s speech.

    Since Trump renounced the pledge to support the Republican nominee (http://www.cnn.com/2016/03/29/politics/donald-trump-ted-cruz-nominee-pledge/), he has no right to expect Ted Cruz’s endorsement. In fact, given his behavior, he got more than he deserved.

    Whether Donald Trump would be corrupt or not, I just don’t know. Since I was not especially hopeful about the man, I would have preferred Ted Cruz.

    What my attitude at this point?

    Let me pass on a joke and my reaction to it.

    The joke:
    I like the idea, but it is unconstitutional. We have to elect a president. Weep and cry. Assume the fetal position, and vote.

    This year I expect people will be using voting machines in ways they were never designed to be used.I do like a little joke going around on facebook, however. It says, “America let’s elect no one in 2016 and just stay single for a few years. We need to find ourselves again.” Not very practical, but at least it makes me laugh.
    My reaction:

    I like the idea, but it is unconstitutional. We have to elect a president. Weep and cry. Assume the fetal position, and vote.

    This year I expect people will be using voting machines in ways they were never designed to be used.

  3. Well, that doesn’t make much sense. The cut and paste got me again. In fact, I don’t know why it came out that way. Let’s try again.

    The joke:

    I do like a little joke going around on facebook, however. It says, “America let’s elect no one in 2016 and just stay single for a few years. We need to find ourselves again.” Not very practical, but at least it makes me laugh.

    My reaction:

    I like the idea, but it is unconstitutional. We have to elect a president. Weep and cry. Assume the fetal position, and vote.

    This year I expect people will be using voting machines in ways they were never designed to be used.

  4. I too failed to find much wrong with Ted’s speech. In his position I wouldn’t have endorsed Trump either.
    I don’t share your view that we will survive Hillary. We clearly may or may not. It isn’t even up to her. Sometimes God has let terrible judgment fall on nations that were less evil than we have become. He may show us His vengeance this time as we are past due some judgment.
    I do agree that we can rest in God’s provision and faithfulness. America may not survive but we can rest in the knowledge that He is in control. We will see His will played out not our own. In that we should rejoice and be at peace. We will have peace when we can say honestly “not my will but Thine be done”.
    I am leaning to support Castle and the Constitution Party this time. Some say it is a wasted vote. But I wasted mine the last two times on McCain and Romney. Obama won anyway. At least with the Constitution Party I can face myself in the mirror the day after election day. Vote your conscience and leave the results to God. He has done far greater miracles. Have faith.


Leave a Reply

Categories

