Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | February 21, 2016

Two Years to the Day

My daughter's friend, Amanda, painted this backyard view from a pic.

My daughter’s friend, Amanda, painted this backyard view from a pic.

Two years to the day from the burial service of my late wife, Nellie Katherine Kyle Bowden, this is the Bible reading in church today:

Psalm 63

I have seen you in the sanctuary
    and beheld your power and your glory.
Because your love is better than life,
    my lips will glorify you.
I will praise you as long as I live,
    and in your name I will lift up my hands.
I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
    with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

View from dock at  Sanctuary, February 2016.

View from dock at Sanctuary, February 2016.

The week before her burial, I moved into the house I call ‘Sanctuary’.

How perfect that this is the Bible verse – two years later to the day.  Dr. Charles Stanley says there are no coincidences in life.  None.

I feel blessed.  I’m grateful for my Sanctuary – to be the caretaker for my time.

I remain deeply thankful for the family, friends and classmates – who gave their time to share Nellie’s funeral and fellowship afterwards in lovingkindness.

First page of Nellie's Bible - in her hand.

First page of Nellie’s Bible – in her hand.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

