Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | March 24, 2014

God Isn’t Dead

Truth In a Movie

Truth In a Movie

The movie “God Isn’t Dead” is several sermons on the big screen. It includes the most hopeful demographic best wishes – brave Muslim convert, aggressive Liberal Professor dying profession of faith, liberal young woman opens up, and Christian seduced by the Left returns to the fold.

The Christian Apologetics were strong. The Big Bang as “Let there be light” and the explosions of life in evolution came across clearly.

The movie was sermons strung into story. Since most movies are anti-Christian, by intent or arrogant inference, this movie feels desperate to say all it can say. Perhaps other Christian movies can tell great stories with the Christian characters whose faith is the fabric of their lives. Christian characters don’t have to be identified by the cross jewelry.

Scenes with authentic Christian living had the subtleties that shout. Like when the Christian performer spoke up and then said he was led to say what he said. That happens to Christians. It does. It really does. Sometimes it is a nudge to say something. Sometimes it’s actual words that just pop in the head of the Believer. The God who created the entire universe does that. He is involved from the infinitely large to the infinitely small. As unbelievable as it all seems, it’s all true.

Like this morning when Psalm 30 is shoved in my face – twice. When I wake up, my phone is on this Bible verse.

I didn't have this open last night.  Maybe I butt-dialed this exact verse.

I didn’t have this open last night. Maybe I butt-dialed this exact verse.

Then, when I did my daily Bible reading on another device – there it is again  – the whole of Psalm 30.  Thank you, Lord.

Psalm 30
A psalm. A song. For the dedication of the temple. Of David.
1
I will exalt you, Lord,
for you lifted me out of the depths
and did not let my enemies gloat over me.
2
Lord my God, I called to you for help,
and you healed me.
3
You, Lord, brought me up from the realm of the dead;
you spared me from going down to the pit.
4
Sing the praises of the Lord, you his faithful people;
praise his holy name.
5
For his anger lasts only a moment,
but his favor lasts a lifetime;
weeping may stay for the night,
but rejoicing comes in the morning.
6
When I felt secure, I said,
“I will never be shaken.”
7
Lord, when you favored me,
you made my royal mountain[c] stand firm;
but when you hid your face,
I was dismayed.
8
To you, Lord, I called;
to the Lord I cried for mercy:
9
“What is gained if I am silenced,
if I go down to the pit?
Will the dust praise you?
Will it proclaim your faithfulness?
10
Hear, Lord, and be merciful to me;
Lord, be my help.”
11
You turned my wailing into dancing;
you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,
12
that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent.
Lord my God, I will praise you forever

 

I loved when the two preachers in the movie said over and over, “God is good, all the time.  And all the time, God is good.”  That is authentic.   The movie got it right.

The movie is so right, indeed, God isn’t dead.

Leave a Reply

Categories

