Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | March 23, 2014

Give Praise Always

Please play this video with your speakers turned up as loud as they can go.

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

Now, play the video again and cry as you sing along until you can’t see through your tears.

Cry for what you will. I grieve for my wife, Nellie. The sadness, the missing, the hurt of her loss is greater than my words – and actually beyond what I can comprehend. I know what I feel and think – only. Her absence is everywhere. Her silence is deafening.

We’re just past 3 months gone – how much longer can this be as it is?

Play the video another time and weep as you try to sing until you are out of breath.

Weep for what you will from this life. I groan from my bones for the life I loved – hers, ours, mine, my kids, our family and families, our friends – that ended. I know she is alive in Heaven. But, the life that was known as hers, ours, etc., isn’t here anymore and never will be again.

Wipe your eyes. Take a deep, if staccato gasping, breath. Praise the Lord Jesus Christ. Praise Father, Son and Holy Ghost.

Make your to-do list and get about it.

I know the past is past. I know the future is ahead and different. The process of going from the past to the future is a long, hard path. I knew it would be.

I’m not complaining, whining and, sure as Hell, don’t want sympathy or pity. I’m not holding on to grief. Just want to share for those who’ve been, those who will be or those who need to serve the Lord for those who do – that God is good. Praise God. Love and worship God.

Weeping is for the night, but joy comes in the morning. That night may be many nights – a season of nights – but compared to eternity, it can be called a night.

This music provides a great ministry. I embrace its message. I follow The Word.

Play it again as loudly as you can – and give praise. Rejoice in Him.

First page of Nellie's Bible - in her hand.

First page of Nellie’s Bible – in her hand.

Leave a Reply

Categories

