Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | May 28, 2013

Memorial Day 2013

The U.S. Army guards the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

The U.S. Army guards the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

Memorial Day 2013.  America remembers its war dead.  I know a dozen from Vietnam – and Korea in 1976.  My kids know some from Iraq and Afghanistan.  My son-in-law knows way, way  too many.   My Clans have not had a close death since the Recent Unpleasantness of 1861-1865.  Wounded and injured immediate family, but no deaths since the time there were many.  In fact, more Americans died during “the War” than all others added together.

I feel a burden for those carrying their grief around this life.  A few months ago I reconnected with a guy I had not seen since Ranger School – 40 years ago – and I found out he lost his son in Iraq about 8 years ago.   I think of their family often.

I’ve only been to the Vietnam Wall twice.  I get so angry and sick at my stomach when I go there.   I want to hit the decision makers that made so many bad decisions.  I feel another rage, actually more disgust,  when I think of the missteps from 9-11 to today.  Most of all, I feel sad and sorry for the families who lost someone precious and dear to them.

Yet, without any sense of contradiction, just cold realism about the way of the world, I feel such honor and pride for everyone who lost their life for America – including our Confederate dead fighting for their American home.   From my GGGG-Grandfather John Bowden losing his brother Jesse in the American Revolution to today and all the tomorrows, I salute our honored American dead.

I feel a fierce pride and love to the U.S. Army for all who served, serve and will serve.  “This We’ll Defend.”   I’m grateful I got to serve as a soldier.

Happy Memorial Day 2013.   Remember.  Remember them well.

Responses

  1. Thank you, Jim, for remembering the fallen on Memorial Day!

  2. Thanks for reading and commenting, Tom.


Leave a Reply

Categories

