Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | December 6, 2010

My Personal Covenant

Isaiah 59:21 As for me, this is my covenant with them, saith the LORD; My spirit that is upon thee, and my words which I have put in thy mouth, shall not depart out of thy mouth, nor out of the mouth of thy seed, nor out of the mouth of thy seed’s seed, saith the LORD, from henceforth and for ever.

December 6th, 1992. The words from Isaiah 59:21 jumped off the Bible when I did my daily Bible reading.  Suddenly, the questions to many prayers found their answer.  I understood a new purpose for my living.

I was on a business trip supporting a communications exercise as a contractor at Ft Gordon, GA. I hated almost every minute there, when I didn’t feel sorry for myself or languish in absolute boredom.

I had loved being in the Infantry.  Even through tough times.  Challenging times. Adored being a soldier.  Couldn’t wait to go to the field.  Thrilled and focused to be exercising on foot or mounted in machines that roared with power.  And, it was over.

But, here was the answer on what to do.  If my children (3) professed Jesus as their Savior and their children and their children and their children for generations I never held and kissed, then all would be well.  More than well.  Wonderful.

When I got home, I walked the aisle for the second time in my life.  I recommitted my life – heart, mind, strength and soul – to love the Lord Jesus Christ and follow Him.  I took a covenant with the Hebrews to be my personal covenant.

How did I know all of this?  I just did.  Great clarity of mind was encouraged by a feeling of real physical power and wellness.   And deep, abiding joy.

Do you have a personal covenant with the one, true, living God?  Ask Him for the purpose of your life.  Read the Bible.  Search through the Psalms.  Linger in the Gospels.  Poke about Paul’s letters to Ephesians, Thessalonians and Romans.  Or, maybe you will find it in a single dangling verse, like the prayer of Jabez.

Seek.  Find.  Do.

Responses

  1. Jim:
    A powerful testimony and just what I needed to read today. Providence.

  2. Hooah, DV. Glad He spoke to you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

