Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | November 19, 2010

Putting the Social in Social Network

This birthday cake has two of my names, but it still isn’t mine.

Yesterday, I got to experience the social side of the social network.   The birthday wishes on Facebook really struck an emotional chord with me.  Most of the correspondents were folks who I know only through Facebook.  Most them have shared political screeds for our common political passions.  A few have put personal issues in a public place.  Still it was a meaningful experience.

It opened my eyes a bit to the potential a social network holds.

I shared some thoughts about turning 60.  I got some wonderful responses from folks who connected with my words.   Thanks, Lord Jesus.

Not sure what my limits are for sharing life to my social network.   I would do it to connect – and serve the Lord in connecting to others.  I’ll think  and pray about it.

I know I’m supposed to write to share life and serve the Lord, but not sure it is supposed to be my personal truth – as opposed to fiction or polemical op eds.

Thanks again for everyone’s kind thoughts wishing me Happy Birthday.

I sincerely appreciate the time and effort.   And warm kindness.

Responses

  1. Let me help pile on som more of the feel-good…Happy Birthday!

    By the way, I am one of your quiet readers, for over a year now; from way back when you were only in your 50’s 🙂

    I do appreciate your passion for evangelism as well as politics. Keep it up. You are a bit of a role model in these areas.

    • Thanks for the feel good. Seriously, it is kind encouragement to write more and better. Thanks.

  2. Who knew?

    60 years old and never been kissed?

    Happy Birthday!

    Now get back to work!

    Aut pax aut Bellum!

    Beat Navy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

