Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | November 18, 2010

Part 3 of 3: On Turning 60

James Atticus Bowden almost 60

What it means to me to be 60 years old.

Part 3 of 3.

Life is about relationships.

The primary relationship is between every individual person and the one, only, true, living God.  The God of the Jewish Torah and the Christian Holy Bible.  All of life is based on this primary relationship.  How it is developed.  Or, its absence.

All other relationships flow from this primary relationship.

Husband and wife.  Child and parent and grandparent.  Clan relative.  Church family.  Friend.  Classmate and comrade.  Co-worker and neighbor.  Citizen.

This is what life is all about.

I did a nice summary of my life in the eulogy I wrote about 10 years ago.  Yes, I wrote my own.  I like my words.  I do words.  Did one for my wife and gained her approval, too.

So, what else should I share with my social network?   Especially, this network of patriots I’ve enlisted with?

Bowden-Maley family wisdom:  God is good.  All the time.  No matter what.

Henderson (Clan Gunn)-Holland-League wisdom:  This is the day the Lord hath made.  We will rejoice and be glad in it.

Personal focus:  I’m not dead yet.  And, we NEVER quit.

This may be why one of my daughter’s friends said, “There’s a fire burning behind your Dad’s blue eyes.”  Indeed.

Fire in the gut.   For the Lord Jesus Christ.  For America – especially my American South.  For family.

When I was on active duty – for the U.S. Army.   To which I remain loyal.

Faith, freedom, family.

For my small role in these things so greater than me – to read and write.  Moreover, to love God with all my heart, mind, strength and soul and to love others as I love myself.

On this birthday I’m looking forward.

I’m not sure how much retrospective I want to put on a blog and social network.  Much of life was more well-endured than happily-lived.  As Paul wrote, I, too, know how to find joy in a moment under almost any circumstance. My words would be widely and wildly interpreted by folks who don’t have any personal context.  I’ll allow this:

One of the best lines from my eulogy is “a man of apparent contradictions but compelling simplicity.”

My classmate, Sully, captured it when I was 21 in my West Point Senior yearbook.   Words to the effect, “Bubba is serious, deep thinker and a light-hearted friend.”  Almost 40 years later, still true.  A serious man and a fey soul.  60 years old today.

Hooah.

 

Responses

  1. happy birthday Jim

  2. Jim,

    Thanks for sharing this with me and so many others. I truly hope they read it and are as inspired by it as I am. On this great journey we all have so much to learn and share but ultimately, the message is simple and profound.

    GOD Bless,
    Tom

  3. Thanks, Tom. Very much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

