Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | October 23, 2010

Social Network

Good movie.  Wonder how much of it was true and how much was Hollywood.  By definition, it was Hollywood’s presentation.

Fascinating to see an idea whose time and technology came together perfectly.   Made me wonder what is next.

I have several ideas if the technology could support them = make them happen.   They wouldn’t be as big as facebook ™ or social networking as a concept.

Fun to see Harvard.   Hard to believe the 30th anniversary of my graduation from grad school is next year.   Loved seeing shots around the campus.   No connection to the social dynamics on screen, because it was 30 years ago and I had very, very little contact with undergraduates.   Saw them, but that was about it.

Loved being there for 2 years.  Felt so grateful and thrilled to be there – even when I was there.   Looking at the course catalog was like being a kid in a candy store.  It was hard to choose what to take.

I thought it was so civilized – polite and respectful.  Not so sure now, since PC has taken its inevitable nasty turn on the way to totalitarianism.   I was there as an active duty Army Captain just 4 years after the fall of Saigon.   But, there was never a problem.  Came to know and really like some of the Anti-war protesters who were classmates there.

Joe Sestak was there.  I knew him at the time, but not well.  Never imagined he would become such a super Leftist.   There were some other notable names that need not be dropped.   Joe is current news.

Very important time in my life.  Learned so much that I value today.   My first two kids were babies and so there was little sleep and constant duty at night.   The constant work was no change from the Army – I had served in 3 Divisions by then and commanded twice.   Wife as very ill for a long time.   My father died.   Still, it was a blessing to be able to study there.

So much for personal walk down memory lane.

I kid folks that I did a terrible thing when I went to two of the most liberal grad schools in America.  Instead of drinking sherry and hobnobbing, I went to the library and read the books.   It made me more Conservative and improved my Christian apologetic.

Veritas Christo et Ecclesiae

Leave a Reply

Categories

