Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | July 29, 2010

Catching Up On What the Bible Said

Last Sat through Mon = Isaiah 44 through 57.

The prophesy keeps on coming. 

The foolishness of idols.  “I am the First and Last; there is no other God.”   Yet, so many people worship idols.  Human Secularists worship the idol and false god of ‘self’.   Hindus have many gods.  Some claim to have just one god – to be like their chums in Western Civilization.    Moslems worship a false god – Allah.  They claim Allah is the God of Abraham – but it is a phony claim, no matter how much they protest or kill people who disagree with them. 

The gentiles will be converted  “Truly, O God of Israel, our Savior, you work in strange and mysterious ways.”

More on false gods.  “For I am God – I alone!  I am God, and there is no one else like me.”  And, “Listen to me, you stubborn, evil people!  For I am ready to set things right, not in the distant future, but right now!  I am ready to save Jerusalem and give my glory to Israel.”

The Lord’s servant is commissioned.  “You are my servant, Israel, and you will bring me glory.”  

Israel will be restored.   Will the Lord desert Israel?   “Can a mother forget her nursing child?  Can she feel no love for a child she has borne?”

“Morning by morning he wakens me and opens my understanding to His will.”

“I, even I, am the one who comforts you.  So why are you afraid of mere humans, who wither like the grass and disappear?”

“How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of those who bring good news of peace and salvation, the news that the God of Israel reigns!”

Then, so much about the Lord – listen to Handel’s Messiah – Jesus.  “A man of sorrows.”  “Yet it was our weakness he carried; it was our sorrows that weighed him down.  And we thought his troubles were a punishment from God for his own sins!  But he was wounded and crushed for our sins.  He was beaten that we might have peace.  He was whipped and we were healed!  All of us have strayed away like sheep.  We have left God’s paths to follow our own.  Yet the Lord laid on him the guilt and sins of us all.”  All written about 700 years before Jesus was born of a virgin. 

One of the reasons so many folks have trouble entering into a relationship with God through Jesus — “My thoughts are completely different from yours,” says the Lord, “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.  For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”  No matter how smart people think they are.  

“I will also bless the Gentiles who commit themselves to the Lord and serve Him and bless His name, who worship Him and do not descrecate the Sabbath day of rest, and who have accepted His covenant.”

“The righteous pass away: the godly often die before their time.  And no one seems to care or wonder why.  No one seems to understand that God is protecting them from evil to come.  For the godly who die will rest in peace.”  And really are alive in Heaven. 

“The high and lofty one who inhabits eternity, the Holy One, says this,”I live in that high and holy place with those whose spirits are contrite and humble. I refresh the humble and give new courage to those with repentant hearts.”  And so He does.  Then,now and forever.

Leave a Reply

Categories

