Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | July 27, 2010

What the Bible Said to Me Today and in 1992

 Today’s Bible readings are Isaiah 58, 59, 60, 61, 62 and 63.   Isaiah prophesies about Israel.   But, the words speak to me.  They shouted at me.   Allow me to explain. 

In December 1992 I was doing my daily Bible reading when the words almost jumped off the page.  I had retired from the Army.  Hated my job.  Hated not being a soldier.  Knew the Lord wanted me to “read and write” (March 15, 1987),  but had no idea what to do except write the novel (Rosetta 6.2) that was injecting itself in my thoughts.  Not finding any fun in the dys’fun’ctional family, but loving them and doing my best in lovingkindess.   On December 6th, or was it the 7th, I read this: 

Isaiah 59:21 (King James Version)

 21As for me, this is my covenant with them, saith the LORD; My spirit that is upon thee, and my words which I have put in thy mouth, shall not depart out of thy mouth, nor out of the mouth of thy seed, nor out of the mouth of thy seed’s seed, saith the LORD, from henceforth and for ever. Aha!  I can take Israel’s covenant as my own personal covenant with the one, true, living, only God.  My life will make sense if my grandchildren’s grandchildren and on and on are Christians.   Yahoo!  The covenant gives purpose and promise.  

I carry these words in my wallet.  I’ve written them in many places.  I put them on the CHRISTmas letter.  On my 50th birthday, I had them engraved in plaques with my name – and gave them to my three children.  

Since then, I’ve read the preceding and following chapters with great interest.   Looking for more messages from the Lord to me – personally.  

Isaiah 59:15 to 19 strike a chord.  The references to putting on the breastplate, helmet, and garments – like Paul’s letter – relate to a dream I had to gird myself, put on the breastplate, etc.   And, the speak to my desire to be like Isaiah in Isaiah 6 – and be one of the only volunteers in the Bible – still, today, now.   Here I am.  Send me, Lord.   Whatever you want.  No matter what.  

Later words speak.  “For I, the Lord, love justice; I hate robbery and iniquity.  In my faithfulness I will reward them and make an everlasting covenant with them.” 

“I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God.” 

“For Zion’s sake I will not keep silent, for Jerusalem’s sake I will not remain quiet, till her righteousness shines like the dawn, her salvation like a blazing torch.” 

“I will tell of the kindnesses of the Lord, the deeds for which he is to be praised, according to all the Lord has done for us. “My covenant remains mine.  It means much to me.  I’m the 8th generation Bowden man – in our line – in America.  Hope 8 generations from now my seed sings praises to the Lord through their personal savior, Lord Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

Categories

