Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | July 2, 2010

What the Bible Said Today

Here below is what the Bible said to me today.  I am going through the One Year Chronological Bible, New Living Translation, Tyndale House Publishing, Inc.  I started reading the Bible 5 days a week – M through F – and then during services on Sunday, when I was 32 years old.  Changed my life.  Still does.  I am 59 and His Word is still new and fresh to me.

Today, July 2nd, was Proverbs 25:1 through 29:27.

It’s the wisdom passed through Solomon in bit-sized pieces.  The tidbits are more like pearl after pearl after pearl of wisdom.  The words flow like poetry.  Some proverbs make you smile with their light whimsy.  Other proverbs stand sternly as carved granite. 

Let the Human Owner’s Manual speak for itself:

  • A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver.
  • If your enemy is hungry, give him food to eat; if he is thirsty, give him water to drink.  In doing this you will heap burning coals on his head, and the Lord will reward you.
  • Better to live on a corner of the roof than share  a house with a quarrelsome wife. 
  • Like a muddied spring or a pollute well is a righteous man who gives way to the wicked.
  • As a dog returns to its vomit, so a fool returns to his folly.
  • As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.
  • As water reflects a face, so a man’s heart reflects the man.
  • Death and Destruction are never satisfied, and neither are the eyes of man.
  • The wicked man flees though no man pursues, but the righteous are as bold as a lion.
  • Those who forsake the law praise the wicked, but those who keep the law resist them.
  • He who gives to the poor will lack nothing, but he who closes his eyes to them receives many curses.
  • When the righteous thrive, the people rejoice; when the wicked rule, the people groan.
  • Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe.
  • The righteous detest the dishonest; the wicked detest the upright.

Ah, from the Good News book.  The good stuff.  The Word of the one, only, true, living God.

Responses

  1. Good for you Jim.
    I have been reading it straight through again this year myself. this will be my eighth time straight through; although I read it every day anyway, I have found that in addition to my usual reading and Bible study, reading it straight through every couple of years or so, ensures that I see the whole stream of Scripture and hit all those often neglected books on a recurring basis.
    Started with Genesis in Jan and just finished Psalms. I use Daily Walk by Walk Thru the Bible at http://www.Walkthru.org

    I addition to the Bible, I recommend My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers (in a modern English edition). A great daily supplement that I have read daily for over twenty years now.

  2. DV: Thanks for the alternative Bible in a year. I am reading Oswald Chambers too (cue the twilight zone music on our parallelism). But, I am not a devotee – and certainly not a 20 year follower. Something about his rhetoric, or me, doesn’t connect dramatically.

    You know how His Word becomes like food and water. You notice if you don’t get it everyday.

  3. I find that Chambers convicts me like an accountability partner who is very insightful. Scary sometimes how well he can cut to my core.
    Anyway, he was quite a fellow, like his biography, he was truly “Abandoned to God”. He followed the British Army as a YMCA chaplain to the ME where he died during the war (WWI). That was back when the YMCA was more than just the “Y” that it is today. The “C” used to mean something. They ran Bible studies and Christian counseling for the the troops. In fact he wore a military uniform. Another example of just how much we have changed in a century.
    I found that after reading his bio and learning more about him as a man, I got more out of MUFHH.

    Walked in our neighborhood parade with my two grandsons this morning. Home to BBQ, swim in the pool and watch the Nats this afternoon.
    Nats not doing too well though. . .

    Happy Independence Day to y’all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

