Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | October 8, 2009

Wrapping Up My Christian Retreat

The First Three

The First Three

 
The Christian retreat in Colorado ended with a business meeting.  Seven men are considering a start up company.  Defense Contracting and Consulting Wherever We Can Find Interesting Work (not the actual name of the proposed company). 
 
The first evening we gave our individual Christian testimonies.  They were as different as our lives.  They were consistent in the gift of God’s Grace – and the close relationship with Jesus.
 
Whether or not we get the business off the ground, I’m grateful for the fellowship, prayer, Bible Study and quiet time of our time together.
 
In my testimony I talked about how perfect my vision was in the rear view mirror of my life and how blind I am to tomorrow.  I’ve drawn graphs and stepping stones – I’m a visual guy – to capture what happened in the past.  My eyes opened, my mistakes, my heart strengthened, my failures and regrets, my joyful insights and His lovingkindness.
 
Two specific things I want to share in addition to what I know is my job in the community of Christ – You will read and write. 
 
In December 1992 the words from my daily Bible reading fairly jumped off the page at me. 
 
Isaiah 59:21  As for me, this [is] my covenant with them, saith the LORD; My spirit that [is] upon thee, and my words which I have put in thy mouth, shall not depart out of thy mouth, nor out of the mouth of thy seed, nor out of the mouth of thy seed’s seed, saith the LORD, from henceforth and for ever.
 
I took this covenant with the Hebrews as my personal covenant.    If my grandchildren’s grandchildren and theirs and on and on are Christians, then my life was pretty well lived.   Right now 2 of my 3 children are observant Christians. 
 
 I have my first 3 – hope there are many more – grandchildren living in my house when their Daddy is away training or deployed. 
 
At the retreat we talked about the consequences for  everything we do or fail to do for the rest of our lives.  I’m keenly aware of what future these 3 babies face.   I’m going to do what I can to make a difference in their lives – appropriately as their old ‘Papa’ , not their Daddy and in my community, commonwealth and country – reading and writing with some speaking, organizing, etc.  on the side for their best future.
 
I pray for clear guidance.   A nice “to do ” list from the Lord, beyond the “how to” of the Bible, would be nice.    Meanwhile, this retired infantryman, still working at other labor,  will trudge on. 
 

 

 
Leave a Reply

Categories

