Posted by: James Atticus Bowden | June 6, 2009

D Day I and II

I played on the beach at Royan, France in the bunkers of the Atlantic wall in 1962/3.   My parents joked that I was the last purple heart of WW II when I cut my foot on the barbed wire.  Scenes from the movie, “The Longest Day”, were filmed near there.  Yet, I’ve never visite the battle site.  Studied the maps, played the war games, read the books. 

D-Day I is a convenient conjunction of place, time, and events to serve as a symbol for Victory in Europe. 

From June 6th, 1944 to May 8th, 1945 there was continuous combat across northwestern Europe.  Just as there had been in the East since June 22nd, 1941.   Normandy is a great place to be an icon for the World War II in Europe – especially from an American perspective. 

The totalitarianisms in Germany and Italy were defeated.  It’d take a long cold war, a World War III,  from 1946 to 1989 to defeat the other totalitarianism terrorizing and enslaving Europe. 

I’ve thought about writing a novel about a D-Day II.  Maybe 2144.  When the U.S. fights its way onto Europe – including the British Isles – to free Europe from the totalitarianism of Islam.  Haven’t figured out how to get around the nukes the Muslim Brits, French and Russians will have.   Nukes make D-Days hard to do.  I’ll think of something if I ever write it. 

If only the churches would divorce themselves from state support.  And, then pray for a great awakening of Christianity across the old continent.  Long before Europe falls behind the dark veil of Islam into a much darker, dark, Dark Ages.

Responses

  1. A couple of observations, JAB. I lived in Tours, Indre et Loire, and near Poitier, both sites of checks against the Islamic infiltration of Europe. I also have walked Omaha and Utah Beaches. Heady stuff, all that.

    In reading about Obama’s visit to France, I realized that his Grandfather and my Uncle were in the same sort of unit (forward airfield construction and air traffic control). I have been reading my Uncle’s WWII journals and trying to figure out whether there’s a story worth retelling from them (of course there’s a story worth retelling, but I meant in a commercial sense). He has a roster of the guys in his unit. I’ll have to check that out more closely.

  2. NoVa: Were you an Army brat in France? When? How old were you?

    I was there – near Bussac (Bordeaux) 1951-54, Orleans 61-62, Fontenot 62-63).

    I was taught that the best French was spoken in Tours. And some of the worst was spoken in the Charente-Maritime where Fontenot is (a few km from a village called Cognac).

  3. Although the folks around Tours always told me that “la Tourraine” was the “most pure” form of French, I began to get the feeling that other regions felt that way about their own dialects. Cognac has other points, so if their French isn’t up to snuff, I’d be willing to overlook that.

  4. NoVa: What years where you there? How old were you?

    I went to a one room school for 7th grade. 14 seventh graders and 12 eigth graders in the same little bulding with two leaky oil heaters.

  5. JAB: We simply have to sit down to lunch in your neck of the woods (food,s more authentic there than in NoVA). You’re trying to out my age in front of your vast readership. I’ll go this far and not a step farther: I lived in France in 1969-70 and was a grown man (but just barely) at the time. This makes me your senior in age, but not in wisdom and experience. Sorry for bad typing. Keyboardsareall different and confusing here.

  6. PS; “here” is Scandinavia. Will return to the Old Dominion on Friday.

  7. NoVa: I was just fishing to see if you were a Brat like me in the same AO.

  8. No, JAB. I was kind of a knock+around student (although I learned a lot more wandering around the countryside of the Loire Valley in a beat up, 35 hp R5 with wicker seats and a slide trombone gearshift than I did in a classroom). By the time I was there, Le Grand Charles had evicted us from our military installations in France.


Leave a Reply

Categories

